(This site is reader-supported. When you buy something using retail links on our articles, we may earn a small commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.)
Alaska has permissive laws in carrying knives, but just like any other state out there, you can find a few exceptions and regulations. Therefore, it is worth considering local laws before proceeding. More importantly, laws are straightforward, and there is no room for misinterpretation. Here is our guide to knife laws in Alaska.
What knives are legal to own in Alaska?
Generally speaking, Alaska will allow you to own pretty much anything you want. This is because Alaska is a wild territory with many risks, and authorities do not want you to find yourself unable to defend yourself when confronted by a large and dangerous animal, such as a bear. From this point of view, restrictions go in a different direction and do not affect one type of knife or another.
What knives are illegal to own in Alaska?
Since there are no restrictions regarding the types of knives considered legal, there are no illegal knives either. Restrictions apply in terms of age, though. Those under 21 years old are not allowed to possess or carry a knife, whether concealed or not. This is the only major restriction in terms of knives.
What are the limits on carry?
There are no limits on carry if you are over 21 years old. You can have a folding knife, as well as an automatic knife. Fixed blade lengths are not restricted whatsoever, so any size is allowed.
Concealed carry is legal but with limitations. You must be over 21 years old. When questioned by the police or other official authorities, you should not hide a knife.
Restrictions on Carry in Specific Locations / Circumstances
Schools are the only institutions with some restrictions on carry. For example, you cannot have a knife on school premises without permission from the Chief Administrative Officer of the respective school district.
Restrictions on Sale or Transfer
The sale and transfer of knives are limited. You cannot provide a gravity knife or a switchblade to someone under 18 years old without their parent’s consent.
Is there a statewide pre-emption?
There is a statewide pre-emption in Alaska. The pre-emption has been adopted for both knives and guns. The good news is knife laws in Alaska are crystal clear. The authority to regulate knives is reserved to just the state.
Major Cities in Alaska with Knife Ordinances
There are no major cities with knife ordinances in Alaska. Even if they do, the statewide pre-emption in Alaska lets you carry knives without any legal trouble.
There are no major exceptions in Alaska. However, some law enforcement agencies might benefit from very narrow exceptions.
Summary of Knife Laws in Alaska
Alaska has a libertine approach to knives. There are no critical dimensions to mention, and there are no major restrictions. Laws are easy to understand and straightforward, so there is no room for confusion. age is more relevant in carrying knives than the actual type of knife.
Hi, I am Jay. I am the creator of Knife Guides, your one-stop site for everything related to knives. I am a computer engineer by profession, knife aficionado by passion. Here I work with a group of people who’ve always had a passion for knives and blades. Over the years we’ve kind of become experts and decided to share our knowledge and ideas. I am also an avid hiker and enjoy offshore gamefishing.