(This site is reader-supported. When you buy something using retail links on our articles, we may earn a small commission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.)
Arkansas got rid of its archaic knife laws in 2011. As a result, it is among the best knife-friendly states in the US. While it does have some specific rules, they do not necessarily affect the possession of a knife. Here is everything you need to know about knife laws in Arkansas.
What knives are legal to own in Arkansas?
Anything with a blade is legal in Arkansas. Balisong knives? Legal. Switchblades? Legal. Gravity knives, stiletto knives, and other stabbing knives are also permitted. The same rule applies to bowie knives and other large knives, meaning the size is not necessarily an issue in this state.
But, it is illegal for a minor below 18 years to carry any knife, concealed or open, besides a regular pocket knife.
What knives are illegal to own in Arkansas?
There are no knives to be considered illegal in Arkansas. The legal profile of a knife in this state does not apply to the actual knife but to the purpose of having it. It is one thing to own a knife because you need it as a tool for your hunting or camping trips. It is another thing to own it to hurt someone.
What are the limits on carry?
There are no limits in terms of size. However, it is a crime to carry a weapon – be it a knife or a gun – in a vehicle or even in your own home to employ it as a weapon against someone else. Simply put, the purpose is what makes the difference and not the legal profile on carry.
Concealment is not an issue, regardless of the municipality. You can carry a concealed weapon if you plan to use it as a tool. However, it is a crime to carry it to attack someone.
Restrictions on Carry in Specific Locations / Circumstances
It is illegal to bring a knife to a school. In addition, all publicly owned buildings in Arkansas prohibit knives.
Restrictions on Sale or Transfer
It is illegal to sell or transfer a knife to anyone under 18 years old. It is also a felony to provide a knife to an incarcerated person. Other than that, there are no restrictions at all.
Is there a statewide pre-emption?
There is no such thing as a statewide pre-emption in Arkansas.
Major Cities in Arkansas with Knife Ordinances
|City, State||Law Title/ Chapter/ Section||Concealed Carry Legal||Max Size Restriction||Short description from the law|
|Ft. Smith, AR||Appendix A Personnel||Yes||3.5"||City Employees on the job. No bladed (a blade of three and one-half (3 1/2) inches or longer) hand instrument|
|Eureka Springs, AR||7.32.01||Yes||3"||blade of which is over three (3) inches in length,|
|Texarkana, AR||15-12.||Except while aboard public transit system vehicles/at public transit facilities and other transit locations: Carry A Knife.|
Law enforcement officers, security guards, correctional officers, and armed forces members can carry knives in any restricted places while they are on duty.
Summary of Knife Laws in Arkansas
The bottom line is that all knives are legal in Arkansas. If it has a blade, you can own it or carry it. As long as your intent is not to commit a crime, you will be perfectly fine. Arkansas is one of the most knife-friendly states in the US.
Hi, I am Jay. I am the creator of Knife Guides, your one-stop site for everything related to knives. I am a computer engineer by profession, knife aficionado by passion. Here I work with a group of people who’ve always had a passion for knives and blades. Over the years we’ve kind of become experts and decided to share our knowledge and ideas. I am also an avid hiker and enjoy offshore gamefishing.